Welcome to Young Enterprise in the West Midlands

A region powering progress in the Midlands

Welcome to Young Enterprise in the West Midlands. We cover an area including  Birmingham and Solihull, Coventry and Warwickshire, Shropshire, Herefordshire & Worcestershire, Staffordshire and the Black Country.

The West Midlands offers an amazing diversity of landscape, people and culture; it was the birthplace of Shakespeare, the Industrial Revolution and Heavy Metal music!

Birmingham, with the youngest population in Europe, is the UK’s second most populous city. Diverse and vibrant, it was voted the best city in Europe in which to do business. Young Enterprise’s work is hugely important in the region. For example, by the end of 2012, Birmingham had the highest unadjusted youth unemployment rate (23.1%) amongst England’s major cities – significantly above average of 18.2%. By contrast, Solihull has a productivity level above the UK average.

We cover 2,000 Primary Schools, 700 secondary schools, 50 colleges and 13 universities. More than 2,100 West Midlands pupils ran their own real companies for a year in 2011-12 as part of our Company Programme.

 


Team IGNITE from Alleynes Academy High School were 2014′s West Midlands winners, representing the region in the UK Final, and were runners up in Company of the Year award!

Team IGNITE sell a sturdy support designed to store smartphone, tablet or handheld games consoles for use when watching programmes, for a more comfortable and optimised viewing angle

YE_1July_p_021

 

To read more Click Here

To download the table of winners Click Here

Watch Ignite’s presentation here:

 


Steven Ramsdale Wins Young Enterprise Gold Award

Steven Ramsdale Young Enterprise Gold Award 2014

Steven Ramsdale Young Enterprise Gold Award 2014

EVENTS & NEWS – FULL STORY


Alex Green, a student at The Royal National College for the Blind (RNC) wins the West Midlands first ever Journey Award

Alex Green Young Enterprise Journey Award Winner 2014

Alex Green Young Enterprise Journey Award Winner 2014

EVENTS & NEWS – FULL STORY


 


Young Enterprise in the West Midlands is very active on social media. Find the right outlet for your area with this handy guide:

 

Twitter Accounts: Facebook Pages:
@YE_WestMidlands West Midlands 
@YEBhamSolihull Birmingham Solihull 
@YE_BlackCountry Black Country 
@YEShropshire Shropshire 
@YEStaffordStone Stafford and Stone 
@WorksHerefordYE
@YECovAndWarks

 

calendar icon

Upcoming Events >

No upcoming events

Contact Young Enterprise in the West Midlands

 

Unit 12, Harlescott Barns, Harlescott Lane
Shrewsbury
Shropshire
SY1 3SZ

 

 

Area Manager

 

Marie  Harper

07960 057947

marie.harper@y-e.org.uk

 

 

Herefordshire & Worcestershire

 

Kirsty Sockett – Senior  Young Enterprise Manager

07960 063 388

kirsty.sockett@y-e.org.uk

 

Julia Neale

07960 063 202

julia.neale@y-e.org.uk

 

Joy Willetts

07960 056 993

joy.willetts@y-e.org.uk

 

 

Coventry and Warwickshire

 

Sarah Bowen

07960 059 796

sarah.bowen@y-e.org.uk

 

Mary Lynch

07794 478 932

mary.lynch@y-e.org.uk

 

 

Birmingham, Solihull and Black Country

 

Gene McLeod

07960 063 385

gene.mcleod@y-e.org.uk

 

Kamran Hussain

07776 856607

kamran.hussain@y-e.org.uk

 

 

Staffordshire

 

Janis Wilcox

07960 055 448

janis.wilcox@y-e.org.uk

 

James Vicary

07436 165 250

james.vicary@y-e.org.uk

 

 

Shropshire

 

David Graham

07960 051 142

david.graham@y-e.org.uk

 

Tim Barker

07960 061 566

tim.barker@y-e.org.uk